14 weeks out: Am I even dieting?

In light of the fact that lots of coverage about bikini competitions is either continual selfies without much substance behind the selfies or lots of pictures of the same chicken and veggies, I have decided to write a mini blog series to give you my insights into my prep for my first bikini competition. I remember in 2015 trawling the internet for information about how other people found dieting – looking for similar experiences, truths and tips and I found very little. There are many selfies of prep, but very little verbiage. I hope this helps dispel some stereotypes and give you some truths. I also thought it would be a good self-reflective tool at the end of this journey. So, welcome to the 14 week lead up to my competition.

Weight loss: 0.5lb – yes, that’s all. Weight doesn’t come off in massive amounts every week and from dieting before, I know that some weeks, it may even go up slightly. I am expecting either my calories to be reduced or my cardio to increase moving forward.

Cardio: 2 x 5 HIIT intervals. Yes, again, that is all. I did no cardio in off season. No need to be slamming cardio initially and using up all the fat loss tools at once!

Calories: 2 x refeed days a week (carbohydrates increase, fats and protein remain the same). Regular days my carbohydrates are still in excess of 200g.

Dieting approach: flexible dieting. Check out my Instagram to see what I have been eating.

Training: 6 workouts a week.

How I am feeling: honestly it is like I am not even dieting. No hunger, no cravings, no difference to how I felt in off-season at all. In fact, this past week has seen strength increases compared to the week before in all my compound movements. Either I have added a couple of extra pounds to the bar or I have added a couple of extra reps. 1 week in and I feel incredible!

My nutrition and workouts are programmed by New York Muscle Radio go check these guys out and search for their Podcast on iTunes or YouTube.

-Benchpressingbaubles, x

Leave a Reply

