13 weeks out: Choose the right coach for YOU

So my second week of prep has past and it was the first week back at work for me, after almost 2 weeks off. I started work at 5am for the first half of the week, doing heavy manual labour. That, and the shock of being back at work, has unfortunately left me with a cold. Other than being sniffly, the week has been good. I have added reps to my lifts this week, so strength is still increasing.

Weight loss: 1.7lbs. I am surprised at how much I have lost this week. I am guessing being back at work, and therefore more active, I have increased my calorie expenditure.

Cardio: 2 x 5 HIIT intervals. I used battle ropes this week and I am terrible at them, but they are so good for HIIT. I think I will carry on with these as I am so out of breath when I am done.

Calories: 2 x refeed days a week (carbohydrates increase, fats and protein remain the same). Regular days my carbohydrates are still in excess of 200g.

Dieting approach: flexible dieting. Check out my Instagram to see what I have been eating.

Training: 6 workouts a week.

How I am feeling: I am definitely seeing the benefits of working with coaches who know their stuff. I chose to work with Pete & Anthony and leave my previous coach as she only believed in ‘clean eating’. I had, for a long time, been calculating the macros of her rigid meal plan and using these macros to follow flexible dieting, but I always felt guilty that I wasn’t adhering strictly to her stereotypical tilapia and broccoli bodybuilding plan. Now, she had done a great job at increasing my calories, but I didn’t want to enter prep being forced to follow ‘bro dieting’. I know this works for a lot of people, and I am not knocking that approach, I just know that, for me, it results in an unhealthy relationship with food. Now, I don’t have to hide what I eat, I stress less about food and I am prepping without remotely feeling like I am.

My nutrition and workouts are programmed by New York Muscle Radio go check these guys out and search for their Podcast on iTunes or YouTube.

-Benchpressingbaubles, x

Leave a Reply

