12 weeks out: Not every week is a weight loss week

Week 3 into prep… not sure why this week has left my hands ripped to shreds from deadlifts, but they are very painful! My legs are also really bruised, which detracted my attention from my workouts on Friday and Saturday. I have woken up ready for breakfast towards the latter half of this week, but still feeling good!

Weight loss: didn’t happen….0.3lbs weight gain. If this is your first time dieting, you may expect to lose weight every week. I know that this doesn’t happen sadly and this is why it is so important to measure success in other ways. Ordinarily, I would say that I would look to what I have achieved in the gym this week as an indicator of success, but, on prep, my success indicators need to be aesthetic. This is where progress pictures and measurements are useful. Indeed, my waist has decreased 1cm this week, with my glutes remaining the same as when I started prep.

Cardio: 2 x 5 HIIT intervals. I used battle ropes this week again. My immediate thought whilst on interval 2 is,’do I really wanted to be lean?!’ These battle ropes are amazing for HIIIT, but also so difficult!

Calories: 2 x refeed days a week (carbohydrates increase, fats and protein remain the same). Regular days my carbohydrates have been reduced, but are still around 200g.

Dieting approach: flexible dieting. Check out my Instagram to see what I have been eating.

Training: 6 workouts a week.

How I am feeling: Feeling positive and enjoying the journey (just my hands wish they could be girly hands and not calloused hands!) People sometimes seem to get bogged down as soon as they enter ‘prep’. I am definitely expecting the road ahead to test me, but if you don’t enjoy the journey the majority of the time, why bother!

My nutrition and workouts are programmed by New York Muscle Radio go check these guys out and search for their Podcast on iTunes or YouTube.

-Benchpressingbaubles, x

Leave a Reply

