3 Weeks Out: What do I do if I’m hungry?

My sister asked me last night, “do you feel different to 3 weeks away from your photoshoot?” I feel COMPLETELY different. Although I know I am in a substantial calorie deficit, and that isn’t healthy to maintain that longterm, I feel healthy. I am able to attack each weights session, do my cardio and get along with my regular day too.
Weight loss: 0. Not ideal at this point in prep to be losing nothing, but it isn’t a gain! Also, I have lost 0.5cm off my waist and 1cm off my glutes (as long as it is fat, I’m okay with a glute shrinkage!) and I feel leaner than this point last week. From experience, I know that the weight you lose in the last week is completely artificial and I also know that sometimes it takes your body a little longer to catch up from a decrease in calories. So not stressed, to be honest, not really bothered, I know I am in safe hands!

Cardio: 2 x 11 HIIT intervals and 2 x 20 min LISS.Changed up my HIIT to using a bike as I hold a lot more fat in my lower body so giving my legs an additional ‘going over’. I have also done LISS on lower body days and HIIT on upper body days so that my legs are as fresh as possible for HIIT. I am hoping then I get more out of the HIIT too, because, let’s be honest, heavy legs session followed by HIIT = death.

Calories: 2 x refeed days a week (carbohydrates increase to 190g, fats have decreased and protein remain the same). Regular days my carbohydrates are at 125g.

Dieting approach: flexible dieting. Check out my Instagram to see what I have been eating.

Training: 6 workouts a week.

How I am feeling: Feeling good! Have been more hungry this week definitely, but there is a definite difference between hunger and starvation. Hunger you learn to deal with pretty quickly, but, knowing what starvation feels like, I am far from that. I am also not lacking in energy either. What do I do to combat hunger? Keep busy, take my mind off it. I also drink more – I am guulty of loving a diet soda or two; but I also drink both hot and cold teas, Crystal Light and BCAAs when I am getting a little tired of water. I don’t tend to chew gum as I don’t want to waste the carbs! The other thing I do is opt for volume in my meals. You can eat a whole bag of lettuce or spinach for less than 10g of carbs and that is A LOT of salad!

My nutrition and workouts are programmed by New York Muscle Radio go check these guys out and search for their Podcast on iTunes or YouTube.

-Benchpressingbaubles, x

